Two days of Days

I’m back from an amazing two days in Los Angeles.

We had a late start on Saturday and headed over the CityWalk around ten. My friend Erica had warned us Friday night that Drake wasn’t going to be there this year, and Mama P was very, very sad about this. (The word was that he didn’t want to answer eight million questions about his injury, which I can understand.) So I let her pick the autograph line for the morning session, and she went for Galen, Kristian, Brandon, and Vivian. Kristian doesn’t usually come to Day of Days so this was a special treat. The line was long and Meredith Scott Lynn (Anne) came by and talked to fans, signed autographs, and posed for pictures while we were waiting. She told us it was her mom’s birthday and several people in line scolded her for not calling her. So she called her on FaceTime and the whole line sang to “Happy Birthday” to Meredith’s mom. When we got to the signing table Mama P and I got pictures with Brandon and Galen, but not Vivian or Kristian, which I think might mean we’re shallow. I have to say Galen and Brandon are both drop dead handsome in real life. Of course I’ve always thought they were handsome, but in real life it’s about 1000x more intense, and they both have such beautiful eyes. Sigh.

Kristian was looking gorgeous:

wp-1479188149735.jpg

This was her look when Mama P said she was sorry Hope was going to jail. She said, “Am I?” No idea what that means, but I’m passing it along.

We ran into some Twitter friends (and got a very, very cool Steve and Kayla-themed swag bag, including a Shenanigans t-shirt and mug! Thanks, Tamra!), and everyone was buzzing about the fact that Dena and Ryan Quan had been spotted wandering around. They didn’t seem to be engaging with anyone, just observing. We speculated they were paying attention to the length of the different autograph lines. I saw them in the afternoon and I smiled at them and tried very obviously to catch Dena’s eye, and she ignored me completely, so I don’t think they were hoping to be recognized.

In the afternoon we waited in Stephen and Mary Beth’s line, who were sitting at a table with Wally and Judi. This was a very, very long line, which I was delighted about for their sake (especially since Dena and Ryan walked by, all the way to the end of the line). It was by far the longest line in the afternoon session.

wp-1479187751679.jpg

wp-1479190120532.jpg

Stephen and Mary Beth were beautiful as always, but I have to say Wally and Judi were just glowing. I love Judi’s hair like this! And Wally’s dimples must be seen to be believed. I asked them if it was significant that they were at a table together, rather than Judi being with Bryan Datillo. Of course they didn’t tell me, but Wally said there is lots of story coming up. I had them sign my Shenanigans t-shirt from my cool S&K swag bag, and Wally seemed really struck by it, and said he had very fond memories of Shenanigans. I didn’t talk to Stephen and Mary Beth much (Stephen was signing autographs and checking his phone at the same time, lol), but they posed for a picture with us.

memomstephenmarybeth

They showed a Day of Days video greeting from Ari Zucker and Missy Reeves. It didn’t say anything meaningful, just “Hello and keep watching,: but I was glad to see it after finding out Ari wouldn’t be at a signing table. I am guessing that Ari wasn’t there because of what happened with Trump and the Access Hollywood tape.

At the end of the day the cast assembled again on stage, and they brought out a few special guests: Vanessa Williams, Marci Miller, and … Greg Vaughan. Whee! Greg got a big round of applause. The cast took questions from the audience. Based on my experience this year and last year, these tend to be a bit strange. You can watch it on the Days Facebook page, but for me there was just one notable moment. Someone asked Vincent if Deimos and Nicole were getting back together, and he said yes (my heart stopped for a second, but turned out he meant with what just aired recently, not what they were shooting). He said the story will take a lot of twists and turns. At that point, Greg took the mike and said things weren’t going well for Nicole and Deimos so they had to bring him back. He was joking around, but I thought it was a very promising thing to say.

Then they showed the Day of Days promo, which I’m sure all of you have seen. I was not particularly impressed — a lot of it has already aired or already been spoiled, and it seemed to cover just the next few weeks. The promo last year was a lot more exciting.

After that, Mama and I had to run back to the hotel and jump in the car to race to the Greg Vaughan event.

There were about 25 people there. Greg took questions and talked for several hours. He told stories about his life and Queen Sugar, which he’s very excited to be a part of. Regarding Days, he said they had been trying to get him back for several months before he actually started, but he was busy with Queen Sugar. He said the calls started soon after his last episode aired, and his feeling was, “Hey, you had me.” But, they worked with his schedule and let him have input in the story and he feels really happy with how it’s gone so far. He is back long term, but Eric might have to be sent off for a couple months when Greg needs to film Queen Sugar (assuming the show is renewed again — can’t believe it’s been almost a year already!).

As for storyline hints, he said they brought him back because “Nicole needs a little spice in her life.” He said Eric comes back a changed man, and his story leads him to interact with almost everyone in the cast. He was really happy about that, because in his last run he loved aspects of it (like the challenge of playing a priest), but he felt he ended up too much “in a box.” He said his interactions with others are more on Eric’s terms now, almost to the point of Eric being “narcissistic.” He gained ten pounds and bulked up to play post-prison Eric, and has a shaggy beard. I asked if we got to see Eric in prison, and he said no, we see him right after he is out. He said he and the producers talked a lot about how Eric gets out so soon, since he was sentenced for five years — sounds like it will be a bigger story than just an early parole. After he said that, we asked if maybe Eric escaped, or if it turned out he wasn’t responsible for the accident after all.  At both of these suggestions he looked mysterious and said maybe, maybe not.

I asked about Ericole, and he said, “It’s a journey” (which cracked me up because he has used that line before). Someone else asked about Jennifer, and he said they do cross paths but “it’s not by choice.” He made it sound like they are at odds. He mentioned several times that there is a lot of hostility, certainly from Nicole, and possibly from other people too. A lot of intense, emotional scenes coming up. He talked about how quickly they have to film and how serious a work environment it is — except Ari and Eric Martsolf, who are always a blast to work with, they make him laugh.

He mentioned the Day of Days promo and how he asked to add a little clip to one of the stories in the promo, it would have fit perfectly. But the producers said it was going to far ahead.

He told a really funny story about how he went camping in the woods in Oregon and accidentally burned his face trying to light a hot tub that ran on firewood. He had to be rushed to the hospital, 150 miles away. He joked that when he gets injured it always seems to be in the face, and his mom says he needs to take better care of his “moneymaker.” Mama P shouted out that it obviously didn’t hurt his good looks, and he laughed and said that his skin peeled off and it was like the best chemical peel he ever had. He got back to the Days set, and Billy Flynn, who had heard about the accident, was appalled because “You burn your face off and you’re better looking than before!”
He said his eyelashes and eyebrows were singed off and he had to take pills to try to make them grow back faster! (Rogaine?)

Then he took us off in groups of 4 or 5 and posed for pictures, signed autographs and chatted with us.

Our group was first and I was first in line (I only knocked over a couple of old ladies, promise). He hugged me, and I told him I had heard he gave the best hugs. This was meant to be more of a compliment than a hint, but he seemed to take it as a challenge and wrapped his arms more tightly around me, in order to live up to his reputation. He ended up hugging me four different times! He was so sweet and attentive, I can’t begin to convey it, like he had all the time in the world and all he wanted to do was hang out with us.ā¤ā¤

wp-1479187641709.jpg

Next time – Day two and Stephen and Mary Beth’s event!

14 thoughts on “Two days of Days

  1. Oh THANK YOU so much for this recap. By far the best one I have read. I really do hope that Dena took note of the lines to MB and SN (and J and W). Can’t wait for the next recap. Please feel free to make it VERY long.

    • You’re welcome, and thank you.šŸ™‚ I will definitely try to be as thorough as I can in my write-up of Day 2. The event was a lot of fun and Mary Beth and Stephen were great in their performance.

  2. It sounds like you and Mama P. had a blast. Yay. I’m even more impressed that you stayed upright after hearing you actually hugged Greg. I MIGHT have faked a swoon just to have him catch me!

    Interesting that the writers were there basically spying LOL. I always think they don’t take into account their “older” audience. We soap fans have very long memories. Giving Steve and Kayla and actual love scene was very encouraging, and I’m glad to see Wally and Judi getting some play. They are really very good together, and they both look great. I think Wally just keeps getting better looking.

    The Promo was very “meh.” I’m interested in Hope’s story only to see how they get her out the mess they’ve written her into. I love Galen, but they’re not doing it for me as a couple right now.

    Same to Ari and Vincent. Like them both very much, but as a couple…I’m keeping my fingers crossed for Ericole.

    So glad you had a great time – can’t wait to read your Stephen and MaryBeth update. And thanks for keeping us all in the loop on Twitter!

    • Swooning so he had to catch me — why didn’t I think of that??

      I am “meh” on Rafe/Hope. I don’t find them compelling but I don’t hate them. They are unlucky because they have two fanbases hating on them, lol. Nicole/Deimos I really dislike. I hate the way he treats her and it’s not clear to me why she puts up with it. If they want to show her backsliding into old “I’ll put up with anything” habits due to Daniel’s death, that would be fine. But they are not explaining it either way.

      Day of Days is still a lot of fun even when the show isn’t that great!šŸ™‚

  3. So happy to hear that MBE and SN brought out the long lines. Yay! Dena take note! I love your pic of the two of them together. MBE is glowing.

    MP, happy for you that you meant your Greg Vaughan. I’m not really familiar with him but because of you, I’m actually looking forward to his appearance.šŸ™‚

    Can’t wait to hear your recap of Day 2 with SN and MBE

    • I was very gratified to the see the long line for Stephen and Mary Beth (and Wally and Judi). I said above I was trying to catch Dena’s eye when she walked by, but what i should have done instead was say loudly to Mama P, “The only thing that would make me stop watching is if Stephen and Mary Beth leave the show.” It’s true!

  4. So glad you had a great time and got to spend “quality” time with Greg! Just heard a short interview of SN & MBE from Diva of Dool from DoD. MBE said something to the effect of their scene from last week as “not being much” [but it caused a big stir – my words, not hers b/c I can’t remember what she said] … hmmmm, wondering if she actually watched the epi at that point??? don’t think so or she might have understood the reaction better. Anyway, sounds like everyone had a great time. I’m glad you went and are sharing your experience with the rest of us. Also, as janetpc sd, feel free to make the next post Long… we want every detail you can remember!

    • I listened to that interview. I think MBE said the ep caused a lot of buzz online. I think she was referring to the love scene when she said it wasn’t much. That’s how I interpreted it.
      I found it interesting when talking about their play SN said something about how his day job can get boring referring to Days. Hope he doesn’t get so bored that he leaves again! But I did appreciate him saying he enjoys playing the family stuff over other storylines on the show. I agree with him there. I know MBE has said similar stuff in the past.

  5. Yeah, that’s it Michelle…. I just couldn’t remember exactly what she said, but yes, she was talking about the love scene not being much. I heard that statement from Stephen too. A bit scary but I don’t blame him considering they haven’t really been utilized much in the past year. Let’s hope things change, and he hangs around for a long time. Days could really work the family stuff if they put forth just a teensy bit of effort. I hope they are willing to do so, but if SN/MBE leave Days, so do I even if some of the other characters are growing on me, I’m not invested in them like I am S&K.

    On a side note, I’m with you in I think my wanting Justin & Adrienne back together probably stems from me just wanting to relive the times when things/stories/writing were good…

  6. Funny how they mustn’t realize how we treasure any of their scenes together—–especially a hot love scene! I mean, when you figure that it had been over 7 months since we last saw them “together”, and given how it was a well done love scene—I was pretty pumped. In fact, I though this was a better group of scenes then when they “reunited” back in 2006—–and that love scene was the first time they had been together in 16 years ! I can only hope that when they brought Stephen back, they had the brains to coincide his & MBE’s contract to end at the same time—if they leave, it better be together ! Also, just thinking–can you believe that it has almost been a year since Bo died ?šŸ˜®

  7. Agree with both of you about the love scene. I can see why Mary Beth would think it “wasn’t much” because it was a short scene she filmed months ago. But since the stories are all kind of subpar these days, these nonverbal scenes and line readings are all we have to hang onto. I heard that Stephen and Mary Beth were allowed to work with the director to choreograph that scene, so that’s why it was so good!

    Wow, that makes me sad that Bo has been dead a year. I wish he got half the mentions that Daniel does.šŸ˜¦

    Will start working on Day 2 writeup tonight!

    • Why does it not surprise me that they helped choreograph that scene—after 30 + years, they just know each other so well…it shows ! I remember, back in ’88—didn’t SN & MBE write the wedding vows (due to the writers strike) for Steve & Kayla—-they knocked those out of the park ! So glad you & Mama P had a blast–looking forward to more write-ups !! “Wish he got half the mentions that Daniel does”–lol !!!

Leave a Reply

