Public service

Hi everybody! You know how some Days scenes that use copy protected music get immediately triggered on YouTube, so that the video gets pulled automatically? I wasn’t sure if this would still be an issue with privately shared Google+ videos, but I decided I didn’t want to take any chances. The last thing I want to do is draw attention to my channel again!

But what about those wonderful folks who don’t have DVDs and so can never see certain scenes? Well, help is here!

Here are two scenes that I know get triggered on YouTube. I have uploaded them to Dropbox and you can click on the links and download them to view. (This is my first time doing this — please let me know if there are any issues!)

The first is the famous forklift incident, where Steve rescues Bo from the forklift at Allied and then they both go to the Emergency center and get treated by Kayla. The song is “Somewhere Tonight” by Bob Seger.

Why is this must see? You have to put up with a Steve/Britta love scene flashback, but this is the first major eyesnog between Steve and Kayla. The song adds so much to the scene.


If you want to read my post on this scene, you can see it here.

The second is the scene after Britta dies. Steve is holding her picture on the pier when Kayla comes up to him. “Don’t Give Up” by Peter Gabriel and Kate Bush plays.

Why is this must see? Steve lets Kayla see that he is pain. She tells him “If you need a friend, you know where one is.” Again, the song is perfect. Here’s the scene:

Steve mourns Britta

And here’s a post I wrote about it. Enjoy!



15 thoughts on “Public service

  1. Gosh, this show was soooooo good at writing stories and Umbrella stories and showing family connections and how other people’s stories effected their family and friends. Ugh!! I miss this type of story telling!!!!! Thanks MP for all that you do. I still love to come here and read your take on scenes.

    • I’m reviewing this stuff as I repost my clips, and it’s true. Everything was so much better then. The romance, the family interaction, the way the stories wove together, the pacing … I miss it too.

      And thank you.🙂

  2. Thanks for the clips! The version i have doesn’t have the Kate Bush song. You’re right that it does add so much to the scene.

    One of my favorite moments is Steves ‘bye Kayla’ The way he says it and Kayla’s reaction. Sigh. I just love them.

    • I think when he says “Bye Kayla” it’s the first time he calls her by her name. If it’s not the first, it’s definitely one of the first. That just adds to the moment. Yes, they are so awesome.

  3. OK….quick poll !! My three favorite songs that were played over scenes were : 3) If You Were Here Tonight (as Kayla gets ready for their first “date) 2) The Border (played over post-rape scenes with S & K) 3) Woman In Me (do I even need to say) Would LOVE to know others votes !!

    • Ooh, this is a tough question. “Woman in me” holds a special place in my heart. Next I think is “Don’t Give Up” from the clip above. And I don’t know if this counts but I love “The Rose” even though we never actually heard the song on the show (the rights were too expensive, I guess!). The lyrics are perfect for them.

      I actually love “Somewhere Tonight” even though it’s really Steve and Britta’s song. I have never been a huge fan of “When Your Heart Comes Out Tonight.” If I like the song at all, it’s through associating it with Steve and Kayla, not the other way around.🙂

      I loved some of the songs they used during the adventure sequences too. “Red Rain” I remember, and I think there was a Genesis song at one point that I really liked … I can’t remember which one now. LOL.

    • Oooh, good question. I think my favorite is ‘Love’ by Teddy Pendergrass. iirc, its played twice on the show. The first time is the HOT, HOT, HOT springs scene when they were on the run. Then it was later played during Kayla and Jacks wedding. It played over their vows which I always loved that we didnt have to hear their vows. Hee!
      I also love ‘Hopeless Romantic’ which is played during their first time together after the rape. It’s such a very sexy, romantic love scene

  4. Holy crap! THANK YOU! I’m in shirtless Steve heaven and your write ups – as usual fabulous- but particularly enjoyed the forklift write up… You are fabulous! (sorry on cloud 9)

    Okay LJ – it’s #3 all the way🙂

  5. OMG–how could I have forgotten “Songbird” !!! :O Was watching the Hot Springs scene yesterday—-wow, how I LOVED that summer on the run !!

  6. I’ll always be a sucker for “Lady in Red”!! I’m starting to associate recent songs to them as well. People make such amazing music vids with S&K that it’s infectious.
    Mary – I was so sad when your YouTube vids went down!😦 it’s been tough these days scraping anything decent off of there. There were so many great collections not all too long ago. Anyway, please know that I appreciate this so much and will check back often!

Leave a Reply

