It was a dark and stormy night

Very cool episode today. I love it when Days does something different, and this was definitely different — tightly focused on one story, unfolding in real time, moody, spooky, intense.

I really enjoyed not knowing if Ben is back or not. Are we watching Abby slowly losing her mind, or are we watching a very, very clever stalker? Both possibilities are ripe for drama, and I hope they keep us guessing awhile longer.

But the really burning question is, which asshole gave them this damn gorilla?


That thing is creepy as hell.

I thought it was very clever to use Chad’s earlier lie about Ben, when he didn’t want to ruin their wedding day, to give Abby a reason not to trust his reassurances. Maybe he’s lying again, to protect her, to placate her.

JJ was much more helpful. I really loved the JJ and Abby scene, where he talked about her singing to him, and how much he trusted his big sister and felt safe with her. It was a very effective way to counter her fear, to remind her of her strength, at least for a moment. But it was only for a moment. Kate Mansi was truly excellent when she cried, “He’s gotten inside my head!”

And what a great cliffhanger! Man, I have missed Robert Scott Wilson.


Can’t wait to find out what happens!

9 thoughts on “It was a dark and stormy night

  1. It was excellent totally agree blew my mind the whole episode was centered on Chabby. So wish this could of happened once during happier times! I’m torn great acting by both Kate Mansi and Billy Flynn but this dynamic duo is over it’s going to take a terrific actress to gel with Billy and to re-create the Chabby Magic. I don’t envy the writers they had to write Kate out so I guess it’s the old”I’m losing my mind ploy” that will be used until they figure out what or whom to do about Chabby. It’s a shame I waited months for Abby to stop hiding her feelings for Chad, than we had the wedding from hell and now the hallucinations or not of Ben. Whew…..Days is driving me crazy!

    • Yup, Days drives me crazy all the time.🙂

      I kind of think she’s losing her mind too. If they are going to recast, it makes the most sense as a way to write her out temporarily. And yeah, I hope they are very, very careful with their recast. I think it’s difficult to recapture magic like Chabby is, but we’ll see how it goes …

  2. Love, love, love this episode!! Not a single part I wanted to fast forward thru. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. That shadow scene, before she saw it, whoa!! The acting and the way this whole episode was filmed…amazing!

    • It really felt like a primetime show, or even a movie — it was that good! I was really, really impressed with the direction and the lighting, the shadows, all of it. Kudos to Days!

    • I think it is sad that the benchmark for a good show is whether or not we FF’d through it, since the urge to FF’d happens so many times🙂

  3. Whoever directed this episode and the warehouse scenes with John, Rafe, Marlena and Steve has really done a great job! I completely enjoyed those scenes / stories. Kate is doing s good job showing Abby slowing fall into fear, paranoia and hallucinations. I love that they are bringing JJ and Chad together to “protect” her.

  4. I both screamed and laughed at that shot of the gorilla!

    I loved the sense of mood and tension in this episode. For all my gripes with the show since last fall, there is definitely visual effort being made. There were also a bunch of terrific character moments in this episode. I thought it was a little slow on the whole — I got what they were going for, but there was a LOT of people just wandering around a house while nothing happened. I’m all for slow-burn drama, but devoting an entire hour to the build alone didn’t entirely work for me. But I’m also glad they did it and hope they continue to take some chances with the writing and production. And at least I didn’t have to watch this stuff interspersed with, like, Belle.

    • I know what you mean about the wandering around the house. But it was so fun to see them doing something different and really trying to be stylish with the direction and such.

      The gorilla was the best part!

Leave a Reply

