I’m still watching the show … really

I resolved, after my last post about current Days, that I would say something positive about the show in my next post. (And no, I don’t want to talk about how sad that is.) So here goes: I thought Monday’s show was decent. The fallout from Max’s attempt to kill Trent was fairly good, showing everyone’s reactions to what just happened. Although I do have to point out that the multiplying motives for offing Trent are reaching ludicrous proportions. Next, a close-up on Lisa the waitress: “He didn’t leave me a tip … he deserves to die!”

I’ll have more on Mick and Chelsea at some later date, but for now I wanted to give props to the show for Lexie’s confrontation of Stefano, which I rather enjoyed. I like a good confrontation scene.

Abe and Lexie are getting mucho screentime with their autism story, and it has been comparatively well put-together, proceeding in a logical fashion, with the appropriate emotional beats. Sick-kid stories are not my cup of tea, but I like the way they are showing the toll this is putting on their marriage. Abe lashing out and accusing Lexie of adultery a few weeks ago may have seemed out of the blue, but it made sense as a man lashing out at the nearest target.

Lexie’s confrontation of Stefano could be seen as motivated by the same problem. She can’t get angry at Theo, or Abe, but she can confront Stefano. I particularly liked it when she pointed out that Stefano alternates between talking about the importance of family love and loyalty, and using his children as pawns.

I wish, though, that the show could confine itself to using what we’ve seen on screen (all that history they’re always ignoring), instead of making stuff up. Stefano has shown zero interest in Theo as long as I’ve been watching. Why not have Lexie throw that in his face, instead of having her channel Sami and act like he’s been angling to get his hands on him? Something like, “You’ve never thought of him as a true DiMera, have you? Well, you know what? You’re right, because I’m going to see to it.”

2 thoughts on “I’m still watching the show … really

  1. Something like, “You’ve never thought of him as a true DiMera, have you? Well, you know what? You’re right, because I’m going to see to it.”

    That would have been very cool and very true. I really hate how the show more or less ignores that Lexie is a DiMera. She never appears at the family meetings and rarely is even mentioned. Of course, I’d like them to DiMera her up and make her more interesting anyway.

  2. I have heard about Lexie’s days as an evil DiMera, and I bet that was fun to watch. I don’t find her character particularly compelling, but I like Renee Jones.

    Maybe a good twist would be for Lexie to make a deal with the devil with Stefano, to get help for Theo and be forced to be his evil DiMera pawn in exchange.

Leave a Reply

