Relieves Cramps and Bloating!

One of the things that makes Days particularly vulnerable is the fact that it’s on NBC. It is the sole remaining daytime soap on that channel, so it is not protected by being part of a daytime lineup. Its ratings surely suffer from not having an appropriate lead-in (in my area, it follows a noontime news hour). Also, unlike ABC, NBC doesn’t own the show, Ken Corday and Sony do. NBC has to pay for the broadcast rights. Since Soapnet is a part of the ABC company, ABC can also make money from the broadcasts on that channel. NBC has no other way to make money on the show other than the ad buys during its weekday broadcast on NBC.

Given all this, I have long thought that product placements might be the way to go. Since each Days episode airs three different times (once on NBC and twice on SoapNet), plus who knows how many times in internet clips, a product featured on the show itself would have much more exposure than a single ad on NBC. And if Steve and Kayla clip viewing is any indication, who knows? People could still be viewing the ad twenty years later!

So consider me in favor of product placement as a concept. But I think I was imagining something a little more casual than last weeks’ ad-within-the-show for Midol. It was jarring, and it took me out of the scene. I give the three actresses credit; I thought they were very natural in their delivery of their lines. But anyone remember The Truman Show? Jim Carrey played a guy whose life was a TV show, but he was the only one who didn’t know it. Laura Linney, who played Truman’s wife, would turn to the hidden camera and display a featured product, grinning like Vanna White.

But if it’s the price I have to pay to keep my show, I’ll take it. And I’ll look on the bright side; it was more subtle than all the “green” talk I was complaining about last time.

Don’t mess with me, I’ve got cramps.

screencap chit chat haven

7 thoughts on “Relieves Cramps and Bloating!

  1. Actually,to me some of the actresses looked like they ‘got the giggles’ during the scene. But that’s beside the point. I agree with you that if blatant product placement is what keeps our show afloat, then no problem. But… Midol? Sure, I guess the core viewing audience is the target Midol market. But how far are we going to go here? Couldn’t we stick to safer topics, like what brand of diapers Sami’s using on the twins, or what kind of toys little Ciara’s playing with? How about what kind of soda they’re serving at the pub, or what kind of ketchup they’re using at the July Fourth barbecue? To me, the Midol ad fell flat because the viewers got the giggles along with the actresses.

  2. I agree with Ellie, I thought RM, SH, and KR had a hard time making it through the scene (which I can’t blame them at all). And, actually, if I have to have blatant product placements, then I’m all for having them as cheesy as possible. The Midol ad was the best thing about Friday’s show and it was, for a change, mostly intentional humor (at least I think they knew it was uproariously ridiculous).

    So, I’d rather have the “Vanna White grin” and blatant propping then pretending that we don’t know exactly what they are doing. I kind of like the wink, nod aspect of the whole thing.

  3. Esp13, excellent point. You’re right, why not have it add some entertainment to the show? And ‘tongue in cheek’ is always more fun than just someone reaching for a Diet Pepsi on the table and taking a sip. The cheesier the better… you have me convinced.🙂

  4. LOL, I’m glad I could help. I’d love it if somebody grabbed a Diet Pepsi and took a big old swig and then turned to the camera with a cheesy grin and said something like “nothing is more refreshing on a hot day than the great tasting Diet Pepsi” then turned back to their scene partner and continued on. It would be cheesetastically terrific.

    If you gotta do it, why not have as much fun with it as possible.

  5. Heh, I guess if it’s going to take you out of the scene anyway, might as well have fun with it.

    I agree the girls felt awkward and were laughing through their lines, but I actually thought it made it more natural. Like in real life when you say something that sounds like it could be a commercial, you laugh about it a little.

  6. Hee, I enjoyed the product placement as well. Yeah it was about as subtle as a sledgehammer, but the girls did have fun with it as did I. I could go with the scenarios you guys are throwing out there as well, why pretend to be anything but a shill when that’s what you’re doing?

Leave a Reply

