The More Things Change

Since today is the Pennsylvania presidential primary, and since I find myself with very little to say about Days today, I thought I’d take a little detour for today’s post. I have lately been eagerly following the Democratic primary race.

The temptation to compare the race to the show and and bring out that hoary cliche that “it’s all one, big soap opera” is far, far too easy. Besides, this is not a political blog. I can’t resist one parallel, however. One dilemma facing Days executives is whether to court change and maybe draw in new, younger viewers, or concentrate on older, long-term characters with a built-in, proven fan base. Do you take a chance on the unproven future, or look backwards to a secure past? I’ll leave you to draw your own conclusions.

I haven’t been spending much time on Days discussion boards lately, and instead have found myself getting sucked into the parallel universe of political blogs and boards devoted to the primary race. And it truly is a parallel universe. The bickering, the hyperbole, the flame wars, the panic attacks, the paranoia, the periodic pleas for civility and reminders that “we’re all on the same side!” Anyone familiar with the Sony board could feel right at home. The feeding frenzies that break out over the latest poll shift, surprise loss, or overblown candidate gaffe resemble nothing more than the “sky is falling” speculation threads at S&K.com. (Unfortunately I have not found an equivalent to TWoP.)

For “airtime” read “media bias.” For “ratings” read “polls.” For “Screw this, I’m never watching this show again,” read “Screw this, I’m voting for McCain.” J&M vs. S&K have nothing on Obama vs. Clinton.

I think I just said that the process for selecting a candidate for the most important job in the United States, maybe the world, is nothing more than the ultimate fanbase war.

Eh, I’ll stand by it.

Next time: Days, I promise.

5 thoughts on “The More Things Change

  1. “Is it possible to say that the process for selecting a candidate for the most important job in the United States, maybe the world, is nothing more than the ultimate fanbase war?”

    Hee! I’ve been thinking that for a while. I was embarrassed at how often I’d think of Days and fanbase boards while reading political blogs, but knowing that I’m not alone makes me feel better.

  2. For “airtime” read “media bias.” For “ratings” read “polls.” For “Screw this, I’m never watching this show again,” read “Screw this, I’m voting for McCain.” J&M vs. S&K have nothing on Obama vs. Clinton.

    Not to mention dragging out storylines until no one really cares any more. *g*

  3. Not to mention dragging out storylines until no one really cares any more. *g*

    lol!! Or staging big events during specific ratings periods.

  4. Or how the young and pretty get all the hype while the experienced and cranky get backburnered. (Okay, that’s not specifically on the Democrat side of the aisle, but…)

Leave a Reply

