I got nothin’

Except that Kayla was looking lovely today. It was nice to see her and Bo out of their hospital gowns, and I love it when they put her in jewel tones. I eagerly look forward to seeing Kayla and Bo ride to the rescue. (It doesn’t look like I’m going to get my “Kayla and Bo smooshed together in a wheelchair” sight gag. Too bad.)

I couldn’t find a great screencap of that cute top she was wearing, but this is a nice shot anyway:

I hate that crappy soap device, “I sense that Hope is in trouble!” Groan.

I have not really enjoyed the constant makeout sessions of Steve and Ava, though this picture is rather wonderful for indicating how he feels about it all:

I do enjoy—in a soapy masochistic way—the way they are playing on my emotions, making me wonder and wonder whether he will have to DO THE DEED or whether Kayla and Bo will get there in time.

I can admit this, right? I enjoyed the John and Marlena scenes today. One of the reasons I watch soaps is for the way they can take a fantastical premise and explore the ensuing emotions with dead seriousness. Sadly, this emotional realism has been in short supply in the last few years. I actually got a glimpse of that in the John and Marlena scenes today. If you are trying to reconnect with your husband-who-is-not-your-husband, who doesn’t remember you and yet seems interested in you, is that enough? Is is possible to start over with the pale imitation, or does it just remind you of what you lost?

screencaps courtesy NBC and S&K.com

7 thoughts on “I got nothin’

  1. *snort* great picture.

    I came close to enjoying the J&M scenes. I thought Marlena had a great point for saying she would always look at nuJohn and expect to see the old John. Then she had to ruin it by saying she’s loved him most of her life and that only the old John could call her Doc (when that was originally Roman’s name for her).

  2. Tripp, I actually felt bad for Roman/Marlena fans when I heard that line. The line wasn’t even correct – Marlena told John she’s loved him most of her life. I think that Marlena the character is supposed to be somewhere around 50 or 55. Let’s even say 50. She met John 22 years ago. So that would be less than half her life. It was sweet and romantic imo for her to say that, but I didn’t think it was true to character. She’s always acknowledged her marriage to Roman, and the writers should have acknowledged it as well.

  3. I can admit this, right? I enjoyed the John and Marlena scenes today.

    I won’t tell anyone. 🙂

    One of the reasons I watch soaps is for the way they can take a fantastical premise and explore the ensuing emotions with dead seriousness.

    That is so true, and I’m not sure I’ve ever seen anyone quantify it as well as you just did. I think that this point is most clearly understood by the actors who are successful in the medium. Sometimes you’ll see an actor on a soap holding back somewhat, in a sense indicating to the audience that the actor knows how far-fetched the premise of the story is, so the actor will ‘save’ his/her best acting for a more realistic story. This is such a mistake, and this is an indicator that the actor is not cut out for soaps.

    In yesterday’s J&M scenes, it was crystal clear to me that Drake and Deidre have completely internalized the principle you’re discussing. No matter how ridiculous the story may seem to outsiders, John and Marlena’s emotions on screen were completely on-the-mark and drew in the viewers. I think that that’s what’s helped gain these scenes acclaim (thus far) from even non J&M fans.

  4. I think that that’s what’s helped gain these scenes acclaim (thus far) from even non J&M fans.

    And some of us are still just irritated that they didn’t give Steve and Kayla this storyline in 2006. 😉

    Kidding aside, I’ve been glad to see the route they are taking with John and Marlena because it’s a good sign that maybe somebody figured out how to put together a full storyline again. And, that they remembered how to play the emotional beats. That’s not just good for J&M fans, it’s good for the whole show because it gives us all hope that they can do the same thing in the other storylines. **crossing fingers that the Steve/Kayla/Ava storyline has the appropriate payoff**

    In other news, I agree marypickford that there have been enough icky Steve and Ava flashbacks to last a lifetime. But, I have to commend SN for walking a very fine and interesting line. He’s managed to convey the fact that he is playing Ava, yet acknowledge there was a real relationship ship there, yet also never make me doubt where his feelings are today. And TB is definitely bringing the crazy in all kinds of wonderful ways. I just wish they had not dragged it out quite so long.

  5. And some of us are still just irritated that they didn’t give Steve and Kayla this storyline in 2006. 😉

    Kidding aside, I’ve been glad to see the route they are taking with John and Marlena because it’s a good sign that maybe somebody figured out how to put together a full storyline again.

    lol – but I think these two points actually go together in a sense. I thought the end of 2006 featured mediocre writing across the board. All the characters being “written for” had storylines that were… just ok. I saw your comment earlier today and I’ve been thinking about this, and I really think that in general, as long as the same head writer is responsible for all the main characters’ stories, the quality of the writing is pretty uniform across the board. I couldn’t come up with an example where one ‘front burner’ story was well written at the same time that another was poorly done. So that’s why I’m hopeful that yesterday’s J&M scenes do signal a change for the better, not just for the J&M story, but for the stories for the other characters as well.

  6. I agree that the end of 2006 was very much the same quality for all the couples across the board. It was clear that somebody decided that all the couples had to be reunited by Christmas, so we had J&M off to Italy and married, Bo and Hope reconciling without any real resolution of anything, Lumi getting back together in much the same way, and Steve suddenly getting his memories back without any real explanation and very weird timing (i.e. weeks after the quarantine where it would have been a payoff and made much more sense).

    And I also agree that it bodes well for the whole show if one storyline gets the proper treatment because it indicates that the writer is probably taking the time to give them all the proper treatment. At least that’s my hope.

  7. esp, I think they have dragged things out with Steve, Hope, and Ava a little too long as well. Today was a whole lotta nothin’. But Kayla and Bo were cute, and it looks like things will start happening tomorrow.

    Ellie, you’re so right about soap actors. You can see some of them thinking they are above the material, and some who just dive right in and do what they can with it.

Leave a Reply

